When Breath Becomes Air (okładka twarda)

Potrzebujesz pomocy w zamówieniu?

Zadzwoń

Produkt niedostępny

Dodaj do listy

Dodaj ten produkt do jednej z utworzonych przez Ciebie list i zachowaj go na później.

Może Cię zainteresować

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The New York Times Book Review • People • NPR • The Washington Post • Slate • Harper's Bazaar • Time Out New York • Publishers Weekly • BookPage

Finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award in Creative Nonfiction and the Books for a Better Life Award in Inspirational Memoir

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.

Tytuł: When Breath Becomes Air
Autor: Kalanithi Paul , Verghese Abraham
Wydawca: Random House Usa Inc.
Język wydania: angielski
Język oryginału: angielski
Ilość stron: 256
Forma: książka
Wymiary [mm]: 25 x 198 x 136
Indeks: 19072098
 
Brak
ocen
5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
Oceń:
W przypadku naruszenia Regulaminu Twój wpis zostanie usunięty.

Zobacz także

Opinie, uwagi, pytania

Jeśli masz pytania dotyczące sklepu empik.com odwiedź nasze strony pomocy.
Jeśli widzisz błąd lub chcesz uzyskać więcej informacji o produkcie skorzystaj z formularza kontaktowego: zgłoszenie błędu / pytanie o produkt

Twoja wiadomość została wysłana. Dziękujemy.

Administratorem podanych przez Ciebie danych osobowych jest Empik S.A. z siedzibą w Warszawie. Twoje dane będą przetwarzane w celu obsługi Twojej wiadomości z formularza kontaktowego, a także w celach statystycznych i analitycznych administratora. Więcej informacji na temat przetwarzania danych osobowych znajduje się w naszej Polityce prywatności.

Wybierz temat a następnie wypełnij dane formularza:

Pole Email jest wymagane

Pole imię i nazwisko jest wymagane

Pole Twoja wiadomość jest wymagane

pola wymagane

Jeśli chcesz skontaktować się z nami telefonicznie, skorzystaj z naszej infolini:

Centrum Wsparcia
Klienta
+48 22 462 72 50

+48 22 462 72 50

Czynne: pon – nd 8:00 – 23:00

* z wyjątkiem świąt ustawowo wolnych od pracy

Ostatnio oglądane

Podobne do ostatnio oglądanego

Korzystając ze strony zgadzasz się na używanie plików cookie, które są instalowane na Twoim urządzeniu. Za ich pomocą zbieramy informacje, które mogą stanowić dane osobowe. Wykorzystujemy je w celach analitycznych, marketingowych oraz aby dostosować treści do Twoich preferencji i zainteresowań. Więcej o tym oraz o możliwościach zmiany ich ustawień dowiesz się w Polityce Prywatności.